© 2024 WSIU Public Broadcasting
WSIU Public Broadcasting
Member-Supported Public Media from Southern Illinois University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Election 2020: Primary Results (Unofficial)

Voters went to the polls across Illinois on Tuesday, March 17. 

Here are our results:


Democrat Ray Lenzi will represent his party against incumbent republican Mike Bost in the 12th district congressional race in November. Lenzi defeated Joel Funk in the primary on Tuesday. Bost ran unopposed.

In the 15th district congressional race, which is an open seat because GOP incumbent John Shimkus is not seeking re-election, on the republican side, Mary Miller defeated three others to earn her party's nomination. On the democratic side, Erika Weaver received more votes than three others. Miller and Weaver will square off in November.


Republican Darren Bailey of Louisville will be moving from the Illinois House to the State Senate after Tuesday's primary election results.

Bailey easily defeated Jeffrey Fleming in the GOP primary to win the 55th district senate seat nomination. There are no democrats seeking the office.

Bailey decided to seek the senate seat after serving in the 109th Illinois House district for one term.


Four southern Illinois state House seats had primary races on the republican side.

Adam Niemerg won the 109th district seat nomination over Richland County Sheriff Andy Hires. Niemerg will now face democrat John Spencer in November. Spencer was unopposed in the primary.

After losing in the GOP primary for the 115th district two years ago, Paul Jacobs edged out John Howard for the nomination.

In the 116th district, David Friess defeated two others for the GOP nod. Friess will now get Nathan Reitz in November. He took over in May 2019 after his father, Dan Reitz, stepped down.

Dave Severin will continue to represent the 117th district. He easily outdistanced Timothy Arview in Tuesday's GOP primary. There is not democratic candidate.


In Jackson County, democrat Cindy Svanda won the Circuit Clerk's race and democratic incumbent Mike Carr won the race for State's Attorney. Carr will square off with republican  Joe Cervantez in November. Incumbent democratic coroner Tom Kupferer won the nomination. He'll square off against the GOP's Alex Crawshaw in the fall.

In Franklin County, voter turnout was 26%, with roughly two-thirds of voters pulling a Republican ballot.

The only contested primary in county races was for Coroner, where Brandon Odle received 44% of the vote to Matthew Warren's 26% and Seth Povidinski's 13%. There was no Democrat on the ballot in that race.

In the State's Attorney race, Phillip Butler will face Abby Dinn in November.

Jim Muir won the GOP nomination for Circuit Clerk. He will be unopposed in November.

Primary Election Day in Jefferson County saw a voter turnout of 31% out of a total of  just over 23,000 registered voters in the county.  There were two contested races on the ballot for County Board on the Republican ticket.  In District Four, Timothy Marlow beat Clifford "CJ" Alexander by a margin of  76% to 23%.

And, in the race for District Nine, on the Republican side, it was Adam Ortgiesen winning over Robert White 61% to 38%.

On the question of whether Jefferson County should  participate in discussions about separating from Cook County, by a margin of 75% to 25% voters said YES to the question.

Democratic voters in Perry County Illinois chose Joe Biden over Bernie Sanders in the nomination race for President.   

Out of just over 1,100 votes cast, Biden received  71% of the vote versus 19% for Sanders.  The big issue on the ballot was a public safety tax - which was voted down by a margin of 56% to 43%.

These totals include early voting and special Saturday voting, in addition to Tuesday's voting.


All local Union county races were uncontested. 

On the Democratic ticket, Tiffany Busby will be the candidate for Circuit Clerk, Daniel Klingemann for State's Attorney, Phil Hileman for Coroner and Bobby Toler Jr. for County Board.

On the Republican side, Keri Clark will be the candidate for Circuit Clerk, Tyler Tripp for State's Attorney and Darryl Harvell for County Board.

Voter turnout hovered around 23%, where the battle for the GOP nomination in the race for County Commissioner was very close.

In that Commissioner race, Tim Atkisson edged out Justin Maze by less than 300 votes. Stuart Adkinson and David Milburn garnered 2% and 5% of the votes, respectively.

Elsewhere in the county, Republican Austin Crabb will challenge Democrat Andrew Wilson for Circuit Clerk in November. Brandon Zanotti will be unopposed in the State's Attorney race, and Republican Brad Boyd will challenge Mike "Junior" Burke for Coroner. Ashley Gott will be unopposed in the race for Treasurer in November.


The race for Effingham County Corner was a top contested race. Incumbent Kim Rhodes will continue to serve as County Corner.

In the county board races District A race Norbet Solwedel is the winner. In the District E race incumbent John Perry is the winner. In the District F race Elizabeth Huston is the winner. In the district I race the Incumbent Joseph Thoele will continue to serve.


Fifth District Appellate Court judge David Overstreet of Mt. Vernon will represent the republican party in November as he seeks to join the Illinois Supreme Court. Overstreet defeated John Barberis, Jr. in Tuesday's primary. Democrat Judy Cates -- another 5th District Appellate Court judge -- awaits Overstreet in the General Election.

Jennifer Fuller joined Capitol News Illinois in July 2023 as the organization’s broadcast director. She will oversee the launch and operations of CNI’s new broadcast division.

Contact Jennifer Fuller at jfuller@capitolnewsillinois.com
WSIU Public Broadcasting is an NPR, PBS member-station located in Carbondale, IL at Southern Illinois University. Contact WSIU Radio at 618-453-6101 or email us at wsiuradio@wsiu.org.
As a WSIU donor, you don’t simply watch or listen to public media programs, you are a partner. By making a gift, you help WSIU produce, purchase, and broadcast programs you care about and enjoy – every day of the year.