© 2024 WSIU Public Broadcasting
WSIU Public Broadcasting
Member-Supported Public Media from Southern Illinois University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rep. Windhorst And Metro East Candidates Sign "No Madigan Pledge" For Next Session

IL State Capital
Liam James Doyle
IL State Capital

State Representative Patrick Windhorst joined two House Republicans Candidates Monday to sign a “No Madigan Pledge”.

GOP Representative Patrick Windhorst and House candidates Amy Elik and David Friess signed a “No Madigan Pledge” vowing not to vote Mike Madigan for Speaker of the House in the 102nd General Assembly.

Windhorst says Illinois Republicans asked for ethics reform last year, but instead they received the joint commission on ethics and lobbing reform that started meeting in the spring.

The commission hasn’t met in almost 200 days since the COVID-19 outbreak, but Windhorst points out other committees and commissions have met including the general assembly.

Allegations of bribery, pay to play, ghost payrolling, sexual harassment and more have been linked to associates of Madigan over the last few years.

All the Republicans urged their opponents to sign the “No Madigan Pledge”.

As a WSIU donor, you don’t simply watch or listen to public media programs, you are a partner. By making a gift, you help WSIU produce, purchase, and broadcast programs you care about and enjoy – every day of the year.